Toronto's Model Boating Club

Open Mobile Menu

29. Rule 19 Wind shift at an obstruction

Click on the animation to run it over this page or right click to run it in a separate window.

Two boats are racing to windward on the port tack towards a shoreline. The leeward (yellow) boat hails “room to tack” twice at position 2. Blue makes no hail and tacks. At position 4 yellow finds that a wind shift allows it to point higher and clear the obstruction without tacking.

Is blue required to give yellow “room” at the obstruction? See Rule 19

Is yellow entitled to hail for room to tack? See Rule 20.1(a).

Is yellow’s hail in proper form? See Rule 20 and Appendix E1.3 and E2.1.

Is blue required to tack by Rule 19? See Rule 19.1 and Rule 19.2(b).

Is blue required to tack by Rule 20.2(c)?

Is yellow required to tack by Rule 20.2(d)?

Is blue obligated to tack under Rule 19.2(b) if yellow did not hail or ’s hail is defective in form?

Is blue obligated to tack under Rule 20.2(d) if yellow did not hail or ’s hail is defective in form? See Rule 20.1 and 20.2(b).

Would yellow be obligated to tack under Rule 20.2(d) if its hail were defective in form? See Rule 20.1 and 20.2(b).

If yellow knew at position 1 to expect the wind shift at position 4, was it entitled to hail for room to tack? If it was not entitled to hail, has it fouled blue by hailing? (see Rules 2 and 20).

Back to top